Love is in the air . . . Even for Barbie & Ken!

Standard

Back when I was little and played with my Barbie dolls, I didn’t have to go through the stress or depression of being dateless on Valentine’s Day. I’ve never been one of those girls who got all disturbed and depressed because all my friends got flowers and I didn’t. I prefer to take a bit different approach and use Valentine’s Day as a day to tell my family and friends how much I love them. My parents have always sent me candy and cards, and I always make sure to call my family members and let them know I’m thinking of them on that special day. There are a lot of people, however, who don’t take this approach. According to a story by WiseBread, “15 percent of U.S. women send themselves flowers on Valentine’s Day.”

Just like all other aspects of our social lives and relationships, social media has it’s finger on the pulse of Valentine’s Day sentiments around the country. This neat infographic (below)  looked at how Facebook users relate to Valentine’s Day.

In another take on social media and Valentine’s Day, Mashable came up with a  campaign to have users create social media related Valentine greetings, using hashtag #TypeNerdyToMe. One of my favorite one-liners from the campaign was “Justin Beiber may have Twitter, but you’re the #1 Trending Topic in My Heart”. ❤ To view more of the one-liners with their cute graphics, read the full story on Mashable.

I bet there were people who tried to send similar Valentines! Did you know that “One billion valentines are sent each year worldwide, making it the second largest card-sending holiday of the year behind Christmas” (WiseBread). That’s a lot of Valentine’s Day Cards!!!!! Then, there are the people who almost forget Valentine’s Day and have to make a quick back-up plan, as in the Socialnomics video below.

But, the best Valentine this year relates not to Justin Beiber, our office mates, our parents or the cute couple next door. Valentine’s Day 2011 is going to go down in toy land history as the day that Barbie reunited with Ken, her former boyfriend. (Did you know that they broke up in 2004? I didn’t) Mattel is taking a new spin on advertising and promotion with their 2011 campaign promoting the re-newed love between the couple that filled a great deal of our childhood time. Not only was the campaign shared via social media, it also revolved around social media sites. I’m curious to see how this innovative campaign affects sales numbers for Mattel’s classic toy, now that it has a new twist!

