What’s in the box? QR Codes made simple.

Standard

I was super excited to purchase my ticket to Knoxville’s Social Slam 2011, but was a bit confused by the odd barcode-looking box in the corner of my ticket. Curiosity got the better of me and I did a bit of research to figure out what it was all about. Through my research I discovered the quick response (QR) bar code and how  to create my own!

QR Codes can be used for a lot of awesome marketing and public relations campaigns. You can use your custom QR code to link to URLs, make phone calls, direct your target audience to an email subscription list, link directly to your resume or a news story, and many more creative opportunities. You can even make a QR code that links to Google Maps so your event attendees will know how to get to your venue! For some cool QR code marketing ideas, see the article 13 Creative Ways to Use QR Codes for Marketing”.

Some people even get crafty with the appearance of their QR codes. 🙂

QRT.JPG

There are so many ways we can use QR codes. To see some examples, watch the video on how some QR codes were used in New York City.

So, if you want to start seeing what all these cool QR Codes go to, you will need to download a QR code reader on your smartphone! There are plenty of free QR Code readers out there for Android, BlackBerry and iPhone. I personally have an Android, so I use a free app called QR Droid.

Next time you see that QR Code box, I bet you’ll wonder what it goes to! So, download a reader and check it out!

Have fun QR searching!!!!

Beka

6 thoughts on “What’s in the box? QR Codes made simple.

  1. Elfawin

    Great post! I have been meaning to learn about QR codes, so you just gave me an incentive! I’m trying out Bakodo for my iPhone. it’s received good reviews, so hopefully it’ll work well.

Comments are closed.