Wacky Wednesdays: A Thursday note to my readers . . .

Standard

So, for those of you who consitsently read my random rantings on this blog, it is apparent that I fail miserably at consistency. COnsistency is of course one of the things that almost any social media expert would tell you is required for having a great blog. Sometimes, I feel like I am doing a good job of being consistent, but most of the time my blogging schedule is all over the place. Often there are even long gaps of time when I fail to post at all. No worries, I haven’t fallen off of a cliff.

One thing that has seemed to be an issue is the age old problem of deciding what I should be writing about. I began this blog for my graduate level Social Media class and was graded on posting frequently and posting interesting, well supported posts about social media. By doing this, I built up a small readership who knew to expect fairly regular posts with good social media information. Originally, I felt that the best future for my blog would be to keep up this same pattern. I found out over the summer, however, that posting three valuable social media posts each week is not as easy to do when you know that there is no one to hold you accountable for doing so. I still LOVE reading Mashable updates and finding cool social media updates on ReadWriteWeb, but I just do not have the passion I once had for writing about it every day.

There is also the issue of professionalism and of giving people what they expect to come from your blog. I do not want my blog to become one of those blogs that only ever focuses on the daily life of the author. While it is often interesting to read these types of blogs, I do feel that I want to be able to provide my readers with valuable content which they can apply to their own lives. With that in mind, I have decided to still attempt to post three times per week. I will, however, be categorizing my posts better so that people can read only the ones that actually apply to their interests. The Mashable Monday posts should come out each Monday and will focus on information relating to a top story featured on the Mashable website. (Disclaimer: Please keep in mind that this is no way related to the opinions or views of Mashable and that I have no affiliation with the company.) On Wednesdays, I will write a more personal post which may include things that are related to school, work, fitness, shopping, eating, cooking, etc. This post will be called the Wacky Wednesday post. Finally, I will occasionally be posting on Fridays a new creation called Friday Fives. In the Friday Fives, I will be listing five facts about something or five steps for doing something. I know that sounds vague, but I think you will really enjoy this new feature! I will also try to keep it much shorter and less media heavy that my other posts. In essence, it will be a weekend quick read.

All this to say, thanks for your patience with my inconsistency and thanks for actually reading this post! 🙂

Happy Blogging!

Rebekah

P.s. This (the first Wacky Wednesday post) is coming out on Thursday because my brother got married yesterday. I’ll do better in the future! 🙂

 

